Teen Hurt In Culver’s Crash Speaks

PLYMOUTH – A TODAY’S TMJ4 exclusive: one of the teenagers hurt in a crash at Culver’s talks about the horrifying scene.

A car crashed into a table full of teenagers eating outside in Plymouth Sunday. The driver claims his accelerator stuck.

A teenager hurt in the crash can’t that image out of his mind, of a car coming at him.

“I just turned my head and the next thing I knew, I’m on the ground,” Mylik Shaw said.

In a matter of seconds, Shaw went from eating lunch to dodging an out of control car.

TODAY’S TMJ4’s Charles Benson: “Were you worried you were going to get run over by the car?”

“Yes, I was scared,” Shaw said.

He has the bumps and bruises to prove it. Shaw and his teammates were sitting outside at Culver’s when they were nearly run over. Their coach was right there when it happened.

Charles Benson: “It’s been 24 hours. Is this still playing back in your mind?

“Definitely,” Coach Jason Flowers said.

Flowers says he couldn’t do anything to protect his players.

“My reaction was to jump up. I was in shock. I didn’t know what to do,” Flowers said.

Charles Benson: “Were you able to yell at the kids to get out of the way?”

“I did yell. I was just in shock,” Flowers said.

Three of the four injured kids are recovering at home. One player remains in the hospital with a broken leg.

Shaw hopes to be playing basketball soon, but he’s still in pain.

“It was pretty freaky,” Shaw said.

While this appears to be an accident, Shaw’s mother says she hasn’t heard an apology from the driver who injured the teens.

TODAY’S TMJ4 also spoke with the driver. He claims his accelerator stuck and he couldn’t stop the car.

“When I got near to the children I moved this way, I’m just pushing it like this to the side there. It was that corner over there that hit the table and the boys,” Robert Herrmann said.

A mechanic used by Plymouth police found, “no obvious signs the accelerator had malfunctioned.”

t

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment